top of page

Homemade vanilla extract


It should be no surprise to hear that I believe that homemade is always better. When it comes to vanilla, an ingredient in so many of my baked goods, I am a firm believer in not skimping. The best part is, it's not actually all that expensive in the long run if you make it yourself. Plus, one whiff of a real split vanilla bean and you'll be singing my tune.

Before we get to how to make it yourself, you might be tempted to buy one of the pre-made products out there. Let's start with the least expensive option: imitation vanilla extract. It's chemically created, and is often times a byproduct of the paper manufacturing process...that does not sound like something you want to put inside your body, now does it? Don't be thrown off with words like "premium" - it's still created in a lab and doesn't hold a candle to real, honest to goodness, vanilla.

Then we have "pure" vanilla extract...well that sounds promising! Look carefully at the label and you're bound to see corn syrup listed...not very pure if you ask me. Since it takes a while for vanilla to infuse into the alcohol, corn syrup gets added in to improve taste and so that companies can get their product to market quicker. Have we no patience anymore?

Let's just take matters into our own hands, shall we? Vanilla extract should honestly be nothing more than vanilla beans and alcohol. You can make your own using vodka, bourbon, rum, or my choice, brandy. Now, vanilla beans are (rightfully so) very expensive. They are grown in certain parts of the world and are the only edible fruit of the orchid family. I have seen jars of just one vanilla bean go for upwards of $10 at the grocery - once I was in a pinch and bought one of these. When I opened the jar, the vanilla bean was not fresh, was extremely brittle making it very difficult to split, and wasn't very fragrant. Here's a very valuable tip - buy vanilla beans at your local health food store, or wherever spices are sold in bulk. They will not only be fresher, but they will likely be half the price and may even be organic or Fair Trade beans.

I have made mine from a kit like you see to the right where I added vodka to split vanilla beans. You just let it sit for four to six months, shaking the bottle every now and then. The best part is you can refill the bottle when the extract is gone and reuse the same beans for up to seven years! So while it will take a little moolah to get started, it is a great investment. The jar in the picture is actually my second refill using the same beans and it's an excellent extract.

This was the way I made my own extract until I received a bottle of brandy and a bunch of vanilla beans from my fellow gourmand, Jamie, for Christmas. The flavor that the brandy imparts really takes it to the next level. What I love about this extract is that each time I scrape a vanilla bean into a dessert recipe (which is not all that often, I am not made of money ha), I put the used bean into the extract to strengthen the flavor even more. Whenever this brandy bottle is empty, I will definitely reuse the beans that are in the bottle and maybe just buy a fresh one (or two) and I'll be back in business.

Here's to never buying vanilla extract again! I promise you the taste is well worth it.

Vanilla extract

Time: Active, 2 minutes; steeping, 4-6 months

Level: Super easy

Ingredients

  • 1 750-mL bottle of your favorite spirit (brandy, vodka, rum, bourbon)

  • 2-3 vanilla beans (the more you use, the stronger the vanilla flavor)

Directions

  1. Split the vanilla beans lengthwise and place into the bottle of alcohol.

  2. Leave in a relatively cool, dark place for at least 4 months, shaking periodically. I'd recommend 6 months.

  3. That's it! Reuse the beans for years on end - just refill with alcohol or place the beans into another bottle. Don't forget to place use scraped beans that you use in other recipes into the bottle for extra flavor.

Mangia!

Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean
bottom of page