top of page

Ham & cheese after-Easter bake


If you're like my family, you make a ham for Easter that can feed an army (maybe even two). Heck, my mom literally asked the grocery store for literally the largest ham they had. My sister and I were lucky enough to be sent home with leftovers (Sar has practically a whole ham in her bag so she could double the recipe below and cook in a 9x13 pan lol). As much as I like ham sandwiches, they kind of get old. I was looking for something a little more interesting to do with my ham.

As I was perusing Facebook, I saw King Arthur Flour post a few great recipes to put those egg and ham Easter leftovers to good use. Speaking of KAF, there are few ingredients that I insist upon using name brand. Flour is one; I am a King Arthur girl all the way. You can really tell the difference in baked goods - try it, I promise you'll never go back.

Not only did I have leftover ham, but I also had several hunks of various cheeses to use up as well so I figured this was the perfect opportunity. Everything turned out great but don't ask me what kinds they were :)

I think this recipe might be my new post-Easter tradition!

Ham & cheese after-Easter bake

Adapted from: King Arthur flour

Level: Easy

Time: About 1 hour + overnight soak

Ingredients

  • 6 1/2 cups cubed bread; about 6 slices or so

  • 1 3/4 cups diced cooked ham

  • 2 cups shredded cheese - I used random blocks in my fridge, feel free to experiment

  • 5 large eggs

  • 2 cups milk

  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

  • 1 teaspoon prepared mustard

  • 1 cup Panko bread crumbs

  • 2 tablespoons melted unsalted butter

  • 1 teaspoon smoked paprika

  • 1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt

  • Freshly ground pepper

Directions

  1. Spray a 2-quart casserole dish with nonstick spray.

  2. Cut the bread into small (1/2" ish) cubes and place half of them into the baking dish.

  3. Layer the ham over the bread, then sprinkle in the cheese. Top with the rest of the bread.

  4. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, salt, and mustard. Pour over the bread/ham/cheese and press everything down so it can soak. Cover the dish and refrigerate overnight.

  5. The next day, preheat the oven to 375 degrees and remove the casserole from the fridge.

  6. Combine the bread crumbs with the melted butter, smoked paprika, seasoned salt and pepper. Sprinkle atop the casserole and bake uncovered until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean. This took 45 minutes for me (original suggested 40-45); rotate halfway through cook time.

Mangia!

Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • LinkedIn Clean
bottom of page